RESOLUTION NO. 20-18

A RESOLUTION OF THE SEBRING AIRPORT AUTHORITY AUTHORIZING PARTICIPATION OF BOARD MEMBERS BY REMOTE MEANS DUE TO COVID-19, AUTHORIZING EXECUTION OF OFFICIAL DOCUMENTS, AND PROVIDING FOR AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

WHEREAS, the Governor of the State of Florida issued Executive Order Number 20-51 on March 1, 2020 directing the State Health Officer and Surgeon General to declare a public health emergency in the State of Florida due to the COVID-19 outbreak;

WHEREAS, on March 1, 2020, the State Health Officer and Surgeon issued a Declaration of Public Health Emergency determining that COVID-19 is a threat to public health in the State of Florida;

WHEREAS, the Declaration of Public Health Emergency has been renewed on multiple occasions, and most recently on August 28, 2020 for an additional 60 days;

WHEREAS, the Governor of the State of Florida issued Executive Order Number 20-52 on March 9, 2020 declaring a state of emergency exists in the State of Florida and reciting the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention recommendation of mitigation measures, including limiting face-to-face contact with others as much as possible and staying home when sick;

WHEREAS, the Governor issued Executive Order 20-69, suspending any Florida Statute that requires a quorum of a local government body to be present in person or that requires a local government body to meet at a specific public place;

WHEREAS, the Sebring Airport Authority (the "Authority") has held virtual meetings pursuant to applicable Executive Orders in recognition that limiting face-to-face contact with others and otherwise practicing social distancing is advisable due to these extraordinary circumstances;

WHEREAS, upon expiration of the appliable Executive Orders, Florida law provides that the requisite number of board members must be physically present at a meeting to constitute a quorum to conduct official business, and, further, that an affirmative vote of a majority of the members physically present is necessary for any action taken; and

WHEREAS, the Authority recognizes that the COVID-19 health emergency is on-going and that members of its board as well as Authority staff and members of the public will benefit from continued participation in meetings through the use of telephone conferencing or other interactive electronic technology.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY the members of the Sebring Airport Authority that:

1. The foregoing recitals are incorporated herein by reference and made a part hereof.

2. The Authority finds good cause that the physical absence of a member of the board from a meeting is just and permissible in these extraordinary circumstances.

3. A member of the Authority board may participate in meetings of the Authority by telephone conference or other interactive electronic technology.

4. A member who is not physically present may not be counted toward the quorum.

5. An affirmative vote of a majority of the members physically present is necessary for any action taken.

6. This resolution shall take effect immediately upon its passage and remain in effect until terminated by the Authority following expiration of the Declaration of Public Health Emergency, as declared March 1, 2020, by the State Health Officer and Surgeon General.

7. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Authority may meet, and the members of the Authority board may appear, participate, and vote in such meetings, utilizing telephone conferencing or other interactive electronic technology means if the Governor of the State of Florida issues or extends Executive Orders permitting the same.

8. D. Craig Johnson as Chair, Pete McDevitt as Vice-Chair, or David Michael Willingham as Executive Director is authorized and directed to execute this resolution and all other official documents on behalf of the Sebring Airport Authority that are approved by the Board on or after the date of this resolution.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by a majority of the members of the Sebring Airport Authority on the 15 day of October, 2020.



SEBRING AIRPORT AUTHORITY

By:

 D. Craig Johnson, as its Chair or
Pete McDevitt, as its Vice Chair or
David Michael Willingham as Executive Director